Pork Tacos and Oatmeal

Not together, of course.  Yesterday morning, I threw a pork tenderloin in the crockpot in order to have a night off of cooking.  A good friend of ours, and Audrey’s godfather (we’ll call him The Godfather, though he’s not Italian), has now gotten me to cook pork on two occasions.  It’s not that I hate pork or anything, but we rarely cook it ’round these parts.

But anyways, I put a pork tenderloin in the crockpot with some fajitas seasonings (not the McCormick packet with all the corn syrup solids and coloring and stuff like that but actual spices: garlic, onion, cumin, black pepper, oregano, and cilantro).  Then I put about half a jar of salsa verde over it (a la The Godfather) and put it on low.  By 12:30 it was totally done and falling apart, so I shredded it up.

Here’s a side note.  I hate making crockpot recipes anymore!  Unless your meat is completely frozen, even on low, everything cooks in such a short amount of time!  If you leave it until you get home from work (i.e. dinnertime), everything has cooked itself to mush!  I suppose if my crockpot was from the 70’s it wouldn’t be like that, but we got ours as a wedding gift and it cooks much too fast.  While I was teaching, I didn’t trust leaving anything in it because I was afraid it would all be burnt by the time I got home.

But I digress.  I reheated the pork by dinner and we ate it on corn tortillas (yes, I know, unless it’s organic, all corn is GMO, but my husband LOVES corn tortillas, so I bought them for him in a moment of weakness) with some shredded lettuce, more salsa verde, and shredded cheese.  They were delicious!

While the pork was reheating, I made some (okay, a LOT) of oatmeal for the next few mornings.  I adapted it from Jessica Seinfeld’s Deceptive Delicious, which has some great recipes (if a little bland), in my opinion.  With some tweaks, I’ve found my absolute favorite chicken soup recipe from her!  But that’s another post for another day 😉

So here’s the deal with the oatmeal.  The original recipe makes 2 servings, but I had to use such a small amount of pumpkin for it, so I increased the recipe to make, ahem, 12 servings.  Oh well:

Ingredients

One 15 oz can of pumpkin
6 cups milk (I used unsweetened almond and coconut milk)
2 teaspoons cinnamon
2 tablespoons vanilla
1/2 to 1 cup pure maple syrup or honey
6 cups old-fasioned oats
1/4 cup natural peanut butter

Mix the pumpkin, milk, cinnamon, vanilla, and maple syrup in a large pot.  Heat to a gentle boil, stirring occasionally.  Add the oats and simmer for 2-3 minutes until the oatmeal starts to thicken and the oats are cooked.  Add the peanut butter and stir to combine.

Divide oatmeal evenly into 12 containers, refrigerate, and enjoy for a while!

I ate my oatmeal this morning with a hard-boiled egg and my cup of coffee flavored with Coffee Mate’s Natural Bliss (sweet cream).  Yup, that’s right, I use actual cream (okay, milk, cream, and real sugar) in my coffee.  Because that’s how I roll.  But more on that another time.

2 thoughts on “Pork Tacos and Oatmeal

Leave a Reply

