Whole Wheat Pumpkin Waffles

I’m so excited to write this post and share a new blog that I found that I am currently IN LOVE WITH!  So one way or another, I came across this: http://mywholefoodlife.com.  It’s a blog run by a mom of two adorable little girls.  Her family is vegan and they try to eat clean.  She has an amazing source of recipes, especially for breakfast and baked goods.  I’ll probably be sharing a lot of her recipes on here!  This morning, we made her pumpkin spiced waffles (recipe here: http://mywholefoodlife.com/2013/02/23/pumpkin-spiced-waffles/).

Oh. my. goodness. were these babies good!  The only modifications we made were the following: 1) we used regular organic whole wheat flour (I don’t have any white whole wheat flour), 2) I doubled the batch because I only had a 32 oz. can of pumpkin and didn’t want to split it, and 3) up until about 10 minutes ago, I didn’t have coconut sugar (who’d a thunk that Meijer would carry organic coconut sugar?!?), so I used organic cane sugar that I’m trying to finish up.

Along with our waffles (topped with a bit of pure maple syrup), we made scrambled eggs and a couple of pieces of bacon.  Now I’m not a crazy bacon lover like most people seem to be, but lately I’ve been craving some good bacon.  I burnt mine the other day in my effort to have crispy bacon (I cannot stand it when it’s soft and slimy), but Marcus cooked it to perfection!

We have a bunch of leftover waffles, so I threw them in ziplock bags with some parchment paper in between and put them in the freezer.  My house still smells of pumpkin and bacon….it was such a good Sunday morning breakfast!

IMG_0757 IMG_0758

Audrey loved both the waffles and the eggs…I managed to get a quick picture before she had her fingers and waffles in her mouth!

After breakfast, I ran out to Meijer to do my grocery shopping for the week.  I made my meal plan (thank you emeals.com – clean eating plan – for help with a few dinners this week!) and went out.  I got everything for the entire week of dinners, lunches, snacks (I’m going to try making some other treats from my new favorite blog) and still spent under $80!  Not every single thing was organic, but every single thing does not need to be.  If I really want something only organic, I wait to buy it at a good price.  For example, all raspberries (organic and conventional) were on sale for the same price, so I went organic.  The 1 lb ground beef I needed for tonights dinner?  Well, Meijer doesn’t have organic ground beef, and I didn’t buy it in bulk the last time I was at Costco, so I bought the sale stuff.  Works for me 🙂

We’re heading out to Ikea today to check out some new media stands.  Audrey is going to have too many accidents with our current one.  Tonight’s dinner (and Wednesday’s since there will be leftovers), courtesy of emeals.com (you really should check that website out): Spicy meatballs over parmesan polenta.  The parm polenta is so good, we had it last week.  I have high hopes for the meatballs, too.

I hope you all enjoy your beautiful Sunday afternoon!  It’s cold here, but it’s sunny without a cloud in the sky!

 

Leave a Reply

