Rest Day

So far, I have completed 4 days of the elliptical.  I’m going back to season 1 of the Gilmore Girls to get me through.  I greatly dislike the elliptical otherwise.  I can run or walk on the treadmill for as long as I’d like, but when it comes to the elliptical, if I’m only listening to music, I usually only last about 20 minutes, tops.  So Gilmore Girls it is!  I was going to try Felicity, but it’s too quiet.  

Today will be my first rest day.  I wasn’t really planning on it necessarily, but yesterday along with completing my 40 minutes of cardio on the elliptical, I shoveled.  Twice.  And guess what?!?  This morning, you can barely even tell!  But I’m sure the hubs will appreciate it when he’s shoveling because there are definitely several inches LESS on the driveway now than there would be otherwise.  And my shoulders are sore from all that work.  

I forgot to weigh myself today, but that’s okay.  I think I’m going to aim for once a week to give myself some accountability.  That way I can also see if what I’m doing is working for me.  If it’s not, I’ll adjust as I go.

Okay, in the last post (yesterday!  how’s that for you?!?), I promised granola. They aren’t my own recipes.  Most of my recipes are not my own, actually…I just find ones that I think look tasty and adapt to my own tastes.  But really, what recipe isn’t like that?  I think at this point, there are very few original and new recipes.  But I digress.  I have two favorites that I have been making a lot lately, and actually some family and friends got for Christmas.  The runner up: Chocolate Granola.  Chocolate.  Mmmm…..Ahem.  Where was I?  Oh yeah, chocolate granola.  Here’s the link to the recipe: 

http://www.yummymummykitchen.com/2013/08/healthy-chocolate-granola-recipe.htmlcrlt.pid=camp.hPrPD6wfZDEM 

from yummy mummy kitchen.  And boy is it yummy!  I used walnuts because I have a lot of them, but anything would be good.  I also used chia seeds rather than flax since that is what I had, but the chia seeds add a nice crunch to the granola, though you will be fishing them out of your teeth for a bit afterwards.  Totally worth it, though, in my opinion.  I have made this with maple syrup rather than honey, and I made it with brown rice syrup, too.  Brown rice syrup is thicker and stickier than maple syrup, more like honey, and it makes for wonderfully “chunky” granola.  It actually gets a bit hard to break up.  I like sometimes doing half and half with the two syrups.

But my favorite granola is almond butter granola.  Everyone in our house agrees this is our favorite.  I like to combine it with the chocolate granola, cut up a banana, add a few blueberries, and pour almond milk (I do unsweetened vanilla most of the time) over it all.  YUUUUUM. Very few breakfasts can top that!  But here’s the scoop on this one:

http://myhealthyhappyhome.com/2012/11/14/what-i-ate-wednesday-two-tasty-recipes/

Again with this, I use whatever nuts I have.  I think I only had sliced almonds the first time I made it, so I used chopped walnuts afterwards.  Still ridiculously good.  And again, I did not use honey.  I used maple syrup and/or brown rice syrup.  LIke I said before, I like a combo of the two to get better chunks, but not too chunky.  I’ve also cut a bit of the oatmeal in this one and added chia seeds.  This recipe doesn’t make as much as the chocolate one, so whenever I make this one, I most definitely double it.  It’s just too good.  Trust me.  And I bet it would be equally good with peanut butter if that’s all you have on hand.

One note, though.  When first making this granola, I thought that it seemed like a lot of salt to add. You can very easily put less salt in.  However, I found that I kind of liked the saltiness of it (the almond butter I used had nothing more than almonds in it, so no salt or sugar there).  Use your best judgement.  I still use a tad less than what it calls for, but more than half of the original amount.  

I also have found from making granola recipes a lot that my baking times are often different than those listed.  Just watch.  Flip at least half way through, and go from there.  Remember that granola dries out and hardens up as it cools, so don’t expect it to be super crunchy right out of the oven.  If you get to that point, chances are it’s burnt, and nobody likes burned granola.

Either way, make one of these!  They are way too good to pass up!

One thought on “Rest Day

Leave a Reply

