Aw, snap! Cold snap, that is…

It is below and beyond freezing around here.  As of right now, it says it’s -12, but feels like -36, and I don’t think that’s the coldest it has been today. My poor Peanut will barely go outside to do her business, and when she does, she does it on the patio stoop about 3-6 inches from the door.  It’s quite lovely.  Ahem.

So because of a few different reasons, one being a sick toddler, others being personal that I won’t divulge, I have gone on a bit of a hiatus from the elliptical for a few days.  I know, I know.  You’re thinking “Seriously?! A hiatus after what, 4 days??”  I’ve thought it, too.  But like I said, things have gotten in the way.  But have no fear, I will be back in a day or two!  I woke up with cold symptoms this morning and am trying to ward anything off…exercising with a cold can be miserable at times.  Hopefully, lots of water, tea, healthy foods, green smoothies, and some light exercise will have me feeling better in no time.

Speaking of healthy foods, Audrey and I shared a green smoothie today for lunch with some eggs.  It was pretty good!  Here’s the recipe, adapted from simplegreensmoothies.com:

Green Smoothie (2 large servings)

2 cups baby spinach
3 cups pineapple (I used frozen)
1 and 1/2 cups unsweetened almond milk
1/2 cup water
2 tablespoons unsweetened shredded coconut
1 clementine orange

For dinner tonight, since I started feeling this cold big time this afternoon, I was really feeling like some homemade chicken and brown rice soup, but didn’t have anything thawed and ready for that, so that’s for dinner tomorrow.  Tonight we went with veggie bowls.  Here’s what I did:

Veggie Bowl (makes 2-3 servings)

cooked quinoa (1-2 cups depending on how much you want per serving)
2 small sweet potatoes, peeled and cubed
1 head cauliflower, broken up
1 can chickpeas, rinsed, drained, and dried off on some paper towels
almond ginger dressing*

Preheat oven to 400 F.  Toss the sweet potatoes in 1 tablespoon olive oil.  Sprinkle with sea salt, pepper, garlic.  Toss the cauliflower with 1 tablespoon olive oil. Sprinkle with salt, pepper, garlic.  Toss chickpeas with 1 and 1/2 teaspoon olive oil.  Sprinkle with the same seasonings.  Put all veggies on separate foil lined baking sheets and into the oven.  After 15 minutes, roll the chickpeas around and flip the potatoes and cauliflower.  Roast for another 15 minutes.  Take the potatoes and chickpeas out.  Bake the cauliflower for an additional 5 minutes.  (Exact roasting times may differ based on how big your pieces are!)

To serve: Put cooked quinoa in bowl.  Add sweet potatoes, cauliflower, and chickpeas. Drizzle with sauce.

*Dressing: I used the recipe for the dressing from Oh She Glows:
http://ohsheglows.com/2013/09/10/the-big-salad/

I use almond butter, but have used peanut butter in the past when I ran out of almond butter.  I also use low sodium soy sauce since I don’t have tamari.  I make a double batch of this stuff and use it all. the. time.  The nutty sauce combined with the creamy sweet potatoes is heavenly.

Anyways, enjoy.  Send warm thoughts this way to get us out of this freeze!  I know I’ll be dreaming of beaches tonight 😉

 

One thought on “Aw, snap! Cold snap, that is…

Leave a Reply

