She’s My Cherry Pie

So I finally read and finished Gone Girl.  My reaction: meh.  I thought it was a bit anticlimactic at the end, no?  I don’t know…adult fiction isn’t my favorite.  I mean, those kind of books are okay.  I start reading them, they get my attention, they keep my attention, but by the end I put them down and know I would never read them again.  I prefer young adult fiction.  I’m not sure what that says about me, but I just feel like that type of fiction is more creative and makes you use your imagination more.  I suppose I’m talking more specifically about science fiction/fantasy, but not the weird-o stuff.  Examples of some of my favorites in that category: pretty much ANYTHING by Madeleine L’Engle (we almost named Audrey Madeleine after her, my favorite author), the Harry Potter books, The Hunger Games Trilogy, and the list really goes on.  So I’m going to wait until the library has Divergent ready for me to read on my nook…some of the other books can wait because I know their type.  And their type is not mine.

On the opposite side of having mediocre feelings towards something are my feelings towards the smoothie I made today.  MMM was it good!  The smoothie I made yesterday was pretty good, but I didn’t take a picture and put it on instagram because it was rather ugly in color.  I changed it up a bit today by using mostly coconut milk rather than just almond milk and by leaving out the cocoa powder, and BAM!  I found my new favorite smoothie.

Cherry Green Smoothie

  • 2 cups spinach (or any green you’d like to use)
  • 2 cups milk (I used about 1 to 3/2 cup coconut milk, the rest of my almond milk, and water to add it up to 2 cups)
  • 2 cups frozen cherries
  • 2 bananas
  • 2 tablespoons chia seeds
  • a squeeze of cinnamon

Add everything into the blender in the written order (spinach on bottom, cinnamon on top) and blend until smooth.  I say a “squeeze” of cinnamon because I get mine in a big plastic container from Costco and I literally squeeze it until a big cloud puffs out.  I rarely measure how much cinnamon I add to things, and yes, I’ve added way too much before and have had to force it down anyway.

Like I said, when I made this smoothie yesterday, I used all almond milk.  What made me like today’s smoothie so much better than yesterday’s, though, was the lack of cocoa.  I have cocoa from Penzey’s and, although it is very rich, good cocoa with no additives, it is very strong.  So the 2 tbsps of cocoa over-powered the fruit flavor.  In today’s smoothie, I used coconut milk (light, from Trader Joe’s), which is my favorite.  I was able to taste the sweet tanginess of the cherries.  Both Audrey and I drank ours up super fast.  Needless to say, I’ll be making this one again tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

