Almond Coconut Granola

A few days ago, I made a new granola recipe.  I was going to go with one of my tried and true favorites, but I wanted to try out a few things.  I threw them together, crossed my fingers, and waited to see what happened.  What followed was a little bit of granola heaven.

Almond Coconut Granola

  • 2 cups oatmeal (old fashioned)
  • 1 cup uncooked quinoa, rinsed
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1/2 shredded unsweetened coconut
  • 3 tbsp almond butter
  • 3 tbsp coconut butter
  • 1/4 cup + 2 tbsp (or 3/8 cup if you have that measure) maple syrup
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

Preheat the oven to 325 F.

Mix the dry ingredients (oats, quinoa, walnuts, coconut, and salt) together in a large mixing bowl.  It is okay that the quinoa is still wet from rinsing.

Add the remaining wet ingredients along with the cinnamon in a small mixing bowl and whisk together until smooth (it may help to heat the almond butter and coconut butter on the stove top or in the microwave first).

Pour the wet ingredients over the dry ingredients and mix well until everything is coated.

Spread out on a foil lined baking sheet (or two).  Place in oven, and after 10 minutes, stir the mixture around.  Bake for another 10 minutes.

Allow the granola to fully cool before transferring to storage jars.  Remember, the granola with dry out and get more crunchy as it cools.

I will not lie to you, this granola tastes a bit different because of the quinoa.  After my husband tasted it, he said that you can definitely taste the quinoa.  At first, I thought “hmm…this is okay.”  Then I tried another bite.  And another bite.  And a few more bites.  And I slowly (okay, not that slowly…about 3 bites in) became addicted.  The quinoa does give it a different taste, but it also gives it a good crunch.  You can play around with the almond butter/coconut butter amount.  This granola does not taste overwhelming of coconut, which left me a tad disappointed.  If you don’t have coconut butter, you could always use coconut oil, though I’d probably do 4 tbsp (or 1/4 cup) almond butter and only 2 tbsp coconut oil then.

Anyways, my little rugrat just woke up and is demanding some attention in the cutest possible way, so I’m off.  Hope you try and enjoy the granola as much as I did!

Leave a Reply

